Alf at the speed of light

Me and dad watched a documentary on tv called “Faster than the speed of light?” (you can watch it here). Apparently some scientists in Italy have recorded neutrinos arriving from CERN in Switzerland sooner than expected, basically 60 nanoseconds or so, give or take the shake of a lamb’s tail, faster than lightspeed.

I know what you’re thinking: Bones is a clever pup, knowing all this science stuff; I’ve got to be honest, I might as well be looking in a bush as my grandad used to say, I don’t have the first clue what this is all about, just what they were saying on tv.

Apparently some dude with big hair and a dodgey accent, back in the day, wrote this theory down that explained….well…everything! Part of it had something to do with him saying that nothing can exceed the speed of light which travels at 299 792 458 m / s which is pretty quick by anyone’s reckoning. Now the important thing to remember is – if this rule has been broken then it calls into question everything that we understand and believe about the physical universe! That is a bit heavy for the puppy brain to take in folks. That would make time travel possible…..which means I could go back in time and fight a dinosaur or something. Brilliant! Or maybe bite Hitler or Napoleon on the bum…..even better!!!!

Alfie told me that he can run faster than the speed of light; no way, he’s quick but not that quick. He said he could run to the bottom of the garden and back so fast I wouldn’t realise he was gone. I said “Prove it!” He said “There you go, do you want to see it again?” Wow, I really didn’t see him move.

He told me he doesn’t like to go that fast, I asked him why:

Alf: Because time slows down as you approach lightspeed.

Me: So?

Alf: So, you thick pup, I have to wait longer before I get my dinner.

Me: Hmm, makes sense I suppose.

Alf: There’s also the problem of stopping distance.

Me: How far is that?

Alf: About three and a half weeks….

I don’t understand why Alf and Jess seemed to find the whole thing so funny.

4 responses to “Alf at the speed of light

  1. We wouldn’t want to have to wait for very long on our dinner so we think we will not run to fast or do any time traveling. All that speed of light stuff is a ‘head shaker’ for us. Hugs and nose kisses

Leave a Reply

