Bones’ winter of discontent

Now is the winter of our discontent, made glorious summer by this son of a border terrier.

I was looking forward to winter, the promise of my first time playing in the snow. So far though it’s been rubbish. The sun has gone most of the day and the sky is the colour of molten lead; the skins around the area are as miserable as the weather. I’m looking out of the window and its widdling down like the sky is a sieve; that reminds me of a poem by the great Spike Milligan:

There are Holes in the Sky

There are holes in the sky                                                                                                                                                                                                                          Where the rain gets in                                                                                                                                                                                                                                But they’re ever so small                                                                                                                                                                                                                         That’s why the rain is thin.

8 responses to “Bones’ winter of discontent

  1. Oh, we enjoyed the poem very much sweet Bones. Hope the rain stops falling down and you can go out and romp and play soon. Hugs and nose kisses

    • Thanks Mumsy, there’s actually a break in the clouds this morning and a pale, weak sun is looking down on us. Does the sun hibernate for 3 or 4 months? Is that the time for rest after working hard in the summer?

    • You’re right as always wise Bassa.
      Did he see the cameo in Life of Brian? Spike Milligan had some lines to speak but as he was saying them everyone walked off and left him there and he just exited screen left. Apparently it was a joke played on him by the Monty Python lads. Brilliant!

  2. Your weather is very much like Seattle where my person grew up. That’s why she moved to Arizona. You should come join me Bones. We even get a little snow here because we’re not down in the desert. My person says she loves your writing on this post. The whole thing is very poetic.

  3. Thank her for me Bongo? The weather in Seattle sounds miserable like here, but Arizona sounds great. Maybe if I’m extra specially good, my dad might bring me to visit one day. Don’t hold your breath though hehehehe

  4. Hiya Bones..I got here through a link on Bongo’s site… I have read all about what a naughty boy you were, was it yesterday? Fancy biting your man’s hand…..
    I live here in Bulgaria, I am not a dog, but I do have 5 doggies that live with me. Lucky is 5,Trudy who is Lucky’s girlfriend and partner in times of trouble, Then there is Charlie, Rosie who are 9 years old and lastly Guido who is 14. He used to be a street dog in his younger years.Now he is saved and is living with us. He is deaf so we have to use hands to attract him.
    Also we have Stumpy cat who has only 3 legs and one of those is damaged. Then last of all two donkeys Maya is 30 plus and Daisy is 4.

    I should like to read more of your adventures so I shall sign up… Please do try to be good. Lots of love, cuddles and licks Patrecia misswhiplash

Leave a Reply

