It’s not the end of the world dad

Bonesdiary has yet again had to take a back seat as it wouldn’t be possible to pry my dad away from his beloved computer with a crow bar. Today mom was using it to do some geneology research, finding out about her family on her dad’s side. Some of them appear to have gone from a place called Ukraine to a place called Canada, like 100 years ago or something which was before even my dad was born!

Anyway, while mom was tapping away, dad was pacing like a caged tiger, he tired of that and eventually sat down. I could still hear him grinding his teeth from where I was sat watching him. I told Alf that he would be on a diet of soup if he carried on grinding, his teeth would wear down to nothing. Alf said I should take his mind off things by pulling the bottom of his jeans or widdling up his leg. Jess stirred enough to tell me not to bother, just as I was about to make my way over to dad. “He’ll kill you; not just wave a finger and tell you off, not just chase you out of the room, you will cease to exist!” As regular readers of bonesdiary will know, I’m rather fond of being alive, maybe I’ll follow big Jessie’s advice for once.

When mom finished what she was doing she alerted him to the fact that the computer was free. Dad had given up and decided he didn’t want to use it after all. All that moaning for nothing. He went off muttering about she had her own netbook, why couldn’t she use that….whole day wasted…more important things….blahblahblah. Well if you don’t want it dad! While he’s in the kitchen boiling the kettle to make some tea and bearing the weight of the world on his shoulders I’ll nip in and do a quick post – hurray!!! He’ll be back sunshiney and happy once he’s had his fix of tea.

One thing I noticed in the news is that the world is no longer in imminent danger of ending on 21st December 2012. Phew that’s a relief, I loved christmas so much last year that I would be a bit peeved if that was the only one I’d ever get to enjoy. Apparently some excavations have revealed Mayan paintings on the wall of a house in the jungle that date back before this codex thingy that everyone got all worked up about, and it disproves the calender ending/world ending tosh. The calender in our house ends every year but the world keeps spinning and everythings just fine. Read about it here: http://uk.news.yahoo.com/earliest-mayan-calendar-shows-no-hint-world-end-175153101.html

Why are skins so negative? They’re always looking for signs that the world is coming to an end: Nostradamus said this and some astral alignment means that, wars and rumours of wars, the bible says the end is nigh. These things that will “come to pass” are the same things that skins have been looking for since they first swung out of the trees. Skins: it’s ok not to worry. Nobody knows how long they’ve got, so why waste this brilliant life with negative thoughts? Enjoy this moment, this now. It’s yours to do what you want with. You get some skins who punish themselves for being alive, ohhh I am so unworthy. Treating yourself like that because you’ll earn a place in heaven makes absolutely no sense, what if there is no heaven? What if this is all we get? What if heaven is here? Then what is the sense of denying yourself?

The way I look at it is, if there is such a place as heaven, the best way to get in is to just be a nice guy and kind to others, no matter who they are. That’s all – you’re in. Oh and by the way, there’s no mention of dogs having souls, so does that mean we’re barred from entering the kingdom? Ah well my friends, I might as well enjoy what time I’ve got left, hopefully way past December 21st.

 

18 responses to “It’s not the end of the world dad

    • I think the Mayans just got bored and left it that. From what I can make out, my mom’s dad was Polish but his mom was Ukrainian. Now there’s a border, just like this Border Terrier, that has never stayed still – glad I live on an island, at least I can’t get lost!

  1. Bones, don’t worry about the Mayan calendar. The Mayan’s themselves only lasted about 2,500 years. Poor planning on their part and not so smart in the calendar department.

  2. Hi Bones!
    DOnt worry about the end of the world… Jesus says no one knows but the Father… 🙂 As for dogs having souls or being in heaven…. When God made the Earth and the Garden of Eden (heaven on earth) he populated it with people and animals.. in fact the animals were made first. So, if he thought animals were importatant enough to be part of the orignal heaven on earth he will surely include them in the upcoming heaven also…. hopefully we will be there with you! 🙂

    God Bless You!
    the collies and chuck 🙂

  3. What an absurd thing… I’ve heard it too, that dogs have no souls! BLSHT! [‘scuse me language!] Anyway my wise Bones I’ll stick to your wise words: “be a nice guy and kind to others, no matter who they are”, I also think that should do it!

Leave a Reply

